
Comments	to	”Draft	Laws	of	chess”		

Introduction	
There has been a lot of confusion regarding how to interpret Article 3.7.e in the laws. The old text is:  

“3.7.e When a pawn reaches the rank furthest from its starting position it must be exchanged as part 

of the same move on the same square for a new queen, rook, bishop or knight of the same colour. The 

player’s choice is not restricted to pieces that have been captured previously. This exchange of a pawn 

for another piece is called ‘promotion’ and the effect of the new piece is immediate.” 

The proposed text is: 

“3.7.e When a pawn reaches the rank furthest from its starting position it must be exchanged as part of the 

same move on the same square for a new queen, rook, bishop or knight of the same colour. The player’s choice 

is not restricted to pieces that have been captured previously. This exchange of a pawn for another piece is 

called ‘promotion’ and the effect of the new piece is immediate. 

The player has the choice: to remove the pawn from the penultimate rank and then immediately to put the new 

piece on the square of promotion; or to move the pawn to the last rank, then to remove the pawn from the 

chessboard and then immediately to put the new piece on the square of promotion. Thus the pawn can be 

removed from the board and the new piece be put on the appropriate square in any order.” 

For some reason some arbiters have interpreted the old text as the pawn first must be pushed to the 

eight rank, and then be promoted. In blitz games they have forfeited players who have inserted a 

queen at the eight’ rank and then removed the pawn from the seventh without pushing the pawn. So 

it’s obvious that we need a clarification, however the proposed text is misplaced in the laws. 

Article	3	
Article 3 is about how pieces are moved. Given a position on the board, including the information of 

castling rights and en passant rights, you may look at Article 3 as description of all possible end 

positions after  the move is done. In this context it does not matter if you push the pawn before 

promoting, or you just insert a new queen before removing the pawn  since the position when the 

move is done (completed) is identical.  

Article 3 also describe castling as a move where the king is transferred from its original square two 

squares towards the rook on its original square, then that rook is transferred to the square the king 

has just crossed. 

Two hand castling is still a legal move, however it is an irregularity since each move must be made 

with one hand only. 

Castling by moving the rook before the king is also a legal move, even it is a violation of the touch 

piece rule.  If no claims are raised before the opponent touches a piece the move will stay as a valid 

castling (otherwise the player must play another legal rook move). 



Example	
In a standard time game, in move 10 white is castling by moving the rook to f1 before he moves the 

king to g1. The arbiter did not notice and the opponent did not make any claim. In move 40 white is 

inserting a queen at e8, and then removes the pawn. After move 65 black is about to lose. A 

spectator (in fact a club mate of black), informs the arbiter that white has done two illegal moves. 

Black has overheard the claim and stops the clock. Both players can confirm that the castling was not 

done according to article 3.8.a (however black did not care or maybe he didn’t know the rules) and 

both players confirm that the pawn was removed from the seventh rank after the queen was 

inserted. Black wants to restart the game at move 40 or move 10 according to Article 7.4.a  

“If during a game it is found that an illegal move, including failing to meet the requirements of the 

promotion of a pawn or capturing the opponent’s king, has been completed, the position immediately 

before the irregularity shall be reinstated.” 

The correct decision from the arbiter is to reject the claim. None of the moves were illegal moves. 

Black had the right to make a claim on the rook‐king castling until he touched a piece on the board. 

The promotion was correct since no paragraph in Article 4, tells how the promotion shall be fulfilled. 

Solution	
The proposed article 3.7.e introduces the principle that the touch order of the pieces is a part of 

judging if a move is legal or illegal. 

My suggestion is: Keep the old 3.7.e as is. The paragraph is a good explanation of the promotion 

move.   

Modify article 4.4.d to also provide a description of how to correctly promote a pawn. The old text is:  

“4.4.d promotes a pawn, the choice of the piece is finalised, when the piece has touched the square of 

promotion.”  

The new text is equal to the text in the draft, just moved to the article that describes the act of 

moving the pieces. I’m open for improvements of this article. 

“4.4.d promotes a pawn, The player has the choice: to remove the pawn from the penultimate rank and then 

immediately to put the new piece on the square of promotion; or to move the pawn to the last rank, then to 

remove the pawn from the chessboard and then immediately to put the new piece on the square of promotion. 

Thus the pawn can be removed from the board and the new piece be put on the appropriate square in any 

order. The choice of the piece is finalized when the piece has touched the square of promotion.” 

 

Otto MilvangNordstrand Chess club 

Norway 

 

 


